A Solemn Five Years: A Tribute To Dimebag Darrell


Today (December 8 ) marks the 5 year anniversary of the senseless murder of Pantera/Damageplan guitarist Dimebag Darrell. I’ll spare the details of the actual night for we all know (or at least should by now) the devastating story. Rather, I want to take a few moments to pay tribute to arguably one of the most inspirational and phenomenal metal guitarists to ever grace the metal community.

Even though it has been five years, I can still vividly recall when I heard the news. I was just waking up to get ready for school that day when my mom rushed into my room saying “Zach, the Today Show is reporting that there was a shooting at a metal concert in Ohio and that some of the band members were killed! They haven’t mentioned who the band was yet.” I sprung into my mom’s room waiting for Katie Couric to reveal more details. After waiting for a good 20 minutes for them to get to the story, they revealed the horrid news. Once they showed a picture of Darrell, my heart plunged to the floor. My mom asked “Do you know the guitarist?” Without saying a word, I lead my mom back to my room and showed her a poster of Dimebag hanging next to my bed. Needless to say, I didn’t need to explain any further to her.

Dimebag Darrell’s musical work stands as inspiration to millions of aspiring guitarists. What made Darrell’s playing so unique was its mix of speed and groove, simplicity and technicality, and purely its strong sense of melody. He stood out amongst the rest for he wasn’t just trying to be flashy and shred like most virtuoso guitarists. While some guitarists would settle for having an insane solo, Dimebag cared about the riff being melodic and memorable. His riffs and solos were permanently melted in your brain at first listen. My personal favorite performance from Darrell is on the song “This Love”. Not only did the song feature a chilling yet passionate solo that you could easily sing along to (even without the music actually playing), but it also showcased the great musical partnership he had with his brother and drummer Vinnie Paul. The two’s tight timing together throughout the song highlights how Darrell was just as skillful with maintaining rhythm as with soloing (a combination not many guitarist possess). Dimebag Darrell proved that metal guitar playing can still inspire and be praise worthy during a time when grunge and alternative rock ruled the mainstream. He was a pivotal reason behind Pantera’s strength and ability to keep metal alive during the 90s.

While he may no long be with us, Dimebag Darrell’s legacy shall always remain. His music will live on and inspire generations of guitarists to come. Though today we mourn his memory, we must always be thankful for the inspiration he has given all of us. RIP Dimebag Darrell.

Leave a Reply

