Turns Out There Are Metal Heads In Princeton…Awsome!

Photo by Jonathan Goh

Photo by Jonathan Goh

I’ve lived in the Princeton, NJ area since 6th grade (I actually live in Lawrenceville but it’s so close that it might as well be apart of the town). I even went to middle and high school in the heart of the town. So I am very familiar with Princeton University and how it’s usually associated with, to say it nicely, Ivy League snotty prep students. While this isn’t a fair assumption of the entire school body, and as much as I love the Princeton Record Exchange (who has the best collection of all music!), Princeton as a town never was a welcoming place for hard rock fans. That’s why I was tickled to hear about Princeton University students creating a student group called Headbangers Inc. The group is dedicated to creating a community for metal and hard rock fans on Princeton Campus. They have held album listening parties and on –campus concerts open for all students to attend. They have even posted listings of upcoming concerts in New Jersey, Philadelphia and New York on their Facebook page so students didn’t have to go to show alone.
This is one of the coolest things I’ve heard about coming from any college campus, let alone Princeton, in a long time. It is great to see metal fans coming together and sharing their love of music in an open and accepting environment. Plus, I’d be lying to say I wasn’t proud that this was happening in Princeton. Take a look at The Daily Princetonian’s article about The Headbangers Inc. Who knows, maybe it’ll make you want to form your own campus group (it’s made me think about it).

4 Responses to “Turns Out There Are Metal Heads In Princeton…Awsome!”

  1. Someone from your past, present, and future. Says:

    Zach,

    You continue to amaze me.

    This is the first blog site I ever visited/experienced; and how wonderfull that my son is the one to introduce me.

    Thanks to you, I’m no longer a virgin –of sorts!

    The site is great. What an incredible way to express yourself and be known to all.

    Zach, your writing gets better and better. You have a real talent –keep on truckin!

    I can’t begin to tell you how proud I am of you. I’m really at a loss of words. The effort and creativity!!!!

    I love you.

    Dad

    PS. I’d love you even more if you learned to drive.
    PPS Nu, what would be so wrong if there was a little Jewish humor on the site?
    PPPSSS I’ll take back everything I said if I see one Led Zepplin word, reference, anything!!

    Love ya.

    Seriously

    • zach-attack-shaw Says:

      Dad,
      I’ll be telling you this again and again, but I wanted to reply anyways. You don’t know how much your comment means to me. Thank you so much for all of your love and guidence over the years. It is that love from you and Mom that has gotten me to where I am today, and I owe everything to the both of you. I love you so much and am truly honored to be your son.

      I love you Dad!

      -Schmooshkin

      PS……and she’s bbuuuyyyiiinnngg a staaaiirrrwwaayyy….to heeaavveenn!!! Sorry I had to! Dont get so faklempt! haha

  2. Juliet Tripaldi Says:

    Zach,
    I really like your blog! I really haven’t been using my blog for anything else besides Comm 170, but yours has inspired me to add images and talk about a wider range of topics. On a different note, I am also a metal fan so I think it’s pretty cool that you report on the latest in the industry. So, I want to know, do you find blogging the best way to communicate about metal news and concert info? Was there any other medium you previous used to do so before you started blogging? When did you start reporting? Do you see your blog as a form of resume building for a possible future in journalism? Okay, enough with the 20 questions haha. In summary– Cool blog, keep posting!

    • zach-attack-shaw Says:

      Thanks Juliet! I’m so happy that you enjoy my blog. Instead of leaving a huge comment here, I decided to post a seperate article on my blog answering your questions. Check it out!

      Thats awsome that you like metal! Do you have any favorite bands?

Leave a Reply

